Select Your Language



TMC juggernaut crushes BJP's advance in West Bengal

TMC juggernaut crushes BJP's advance in West Bengal


, Tuesday, 4 June 2024 (16:24 IST)
Kolkata: With Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress leaving the BJP in the dust maintaining unassailable leads in 32 Lok Sabha constituencies, ecstatic party supporters smeared with green colour burst into jubilation all over the state.
Hundreds of party supporters assembled in front of Banerjee's residence at Kalighat in South Kolkata to celebrate the party's spectacular show.
Their main rival, PM Narendra Modi's BJP is tottering with leads in mere nine as per the latest trend.
The TMC was able to hold its bastion in the state as almost all its heavyweights are leading by whopping margins.
The Congress is leading only in one seat, while the Left is yet to take any lead from any constituency.
All TMC stalwarts Abhishek Banerjee, Sougata Ray, Sudip Bandopadhyay, Kalyan Banerjee, Mala Ray, Dipak Adhikari alias Dev, Shatabdi Ray and Mohua Moitra are marching ahead from their respective constituencies.
Cinestars Rachana Banerjee and June Malia of the TMC are matching ahead from Hooghly and Kanthi Lok Sabha constituencies respectively.
TMC National General Secretary and ruling party's second-in-command Abhishek Banerjee is on an unassailable lead of over four lakh votes over his nearest rival from Diamond Harbour Lok Sabha seat. This is so far the highest ever margin by any candidate from Bengal as of now.
BJP heavyweight Dilip Ghosh and Union Ministers Nishith Pramanik and Subhash Sarkar are trailing from Bardhaman-Durgapur, Cooch Behar and Bankura Lok Sabha constituencies respectively. Even Leader of Opposition Suvendu Adhikari's brother Soumendu Adhikari is also trailing from Kanthi Lok Sabha seat.
BJP state president Sukanta Majumdar is also trailing from Balurghat Lok Sabha seat.
Congress stalwart Adhir Chowdhury's fortune is also vacillating as he is trailing from the party bastion Baharampore Lok Sabha seat.

Share this Story:

Follow Webdunia english

Next Article

DMK Front set for landslide victory, leads in 38 seats in Tamil Nadu