Webdunia - Bharat's app for daily news and videos

Install App

Select Your Language



11 militants, 3 soldiers killed in Kashmir encounters

Sunday, 1 April 2018 (19:59 IST)
Awantipora: As many as 11 militants, including top commanders, and three Army jawans were killed in three separate encounters on Sunday in south Kashmir, where a Special Police Officer (SPO) was killed and another was injured by gunmen on Saturday.

Two civilians were also killed while about 40 others were injured in security force action in south Kashmir, where internet services have been suspended since late last night to prevent spread of any rumours.“Bodies of three militants have been recovered in Kachdoora in Shopian, taking the total number of militants killed in three encounters in south Kashmir to 11,” Director General of Police SP Vaid said in the evening.

He said the number of the militants killed in Kachdoora could rise after the rubble of the house, where the ultras were trapped, was removed. The house was totally damaged in the encounter. It was reported that four to five militants were holed up there.

Official sources said that one more Army jawan succumbed to his injured, taking the total number of soldiers killed in Kachdoora encounter to three. However, official confirmation was awaited.

Besides these three at Kachdoora, seven militants were killed in an encounter at Dragad in Shopian while one ultra was gunned down in Anantnag’s Peth Dialgam, where one militant was caught alive after he surrendered.

“Two of the seven militants, identified as Rayees Thoker and Ishfaq Malik, killed at Shopian’s Dragad were responsible for the killing of Lieutenant Ummar Fayaz in May last year. All the seven militants killed in Dragad have been identified as locals and their bodies have been claimed by their kin,” Dr Vaid, flanked by AK Bhatt, GOC Army's 15 Corps and IG CRPF and IG police, told reporters during a press conference here on Sunday afternoon. 

A police spokesperson said that the slain militants have been identified as Zubair Ahmad Turay, Ishfaq Ahmad Malik, Yawar Itoo, Nazim Ahmad Dar, Adil Ahmad Thoker, Ubaid Ahmad Malla and Rayez Ahmad Thoker.Giving details about the operations, the DGP said XXXXX pick up from para six line 1 of (SECURITY-JK-EVENING LEAD ENCOUNTER) DR 25.(UNI)

Share this Story:

Follow Webdunia english

Next Article

Maharashtra MLA Yashomati Thakur appointed AICC secy for Karnataka