Webdunia - Bharat's app for daily news and videos

Install App

Select Your Language



England’s Jofra Archer, Ben Stokes reserve players arrives for first 2 tests

Sunday, 24 January 2021 (16:50 IST)
Chennai: Pacer Jofra Archer, all round Ben Stokes batsman Rorry Burns and Jonathan Trott were among the 15 members of the England Team and reserve players arrived here today for the first two tests to be played at the Chepauk Stadiumon February 5 and 13.

The cricketers and reserve players who were not part of the England Team that was currently playing test matches in SriLanka, arrived here by a special aircraft from Hyderabad for four tests, five T-20s and three ODIs.

The last two tests and the T-20s would be held in Ahmedabad and the ODIs in Pune.

The England team would be arriving from Sri Lanka on January 27,the day when Indian cricketers would land in the city in batches.

The players, who arrived today were subjected to medical tests and would be isolated in a star hotel in the city for the next few days in view of the corona pandemic.

All the England and Indian cricketers would go into bio-bubble at the Leela Palace hotel along with match officials.

While Ben Stokes and Jofra Archer returned for the Test series when the ECB named the squad for the first two matches.

Batsman Rory Burns also returned to the side after missing the Sri Lanka tour to stay at home for the birth of his first child.

England’s selectors have decided to rest Jonny Bairstow, Sam Curran and Mark Wood, who are currently in Sri Lanka while Craig Overton will also return home after the second Test in the island nation.

The England team : Joe Root (Captain), Jofra Archer, Moeen Ali, James Anderson, Dom Bess, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler, Zak Crawley, Ben Foakes, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Dom Sibley, Ben Stokes, Olly Stone and Chris Woakes.

Reserves: James Bracey, Mason Crane, Saqib Mahmood, Matthew Parkinson, Ollie Robinson and Amar Virdi.

Indian team: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (VC), KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant and Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keepers), R Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur.

Net bowlers: Ankit Rajpoot, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Warrier, Krishnappa Gowtham, Saurabh Kumar.

Standbys: KS Bharat, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Shahbaz Nadeem, Rahul Chahar, Priyank Panchal. (UNI)

Share this Story:

Follow Webdunia english

Next Article

COVID vaccination drive: 15.82 lakh people given jabs since Jan 16