Webdunia - Bharat's app for daily news and videos

Install App

Select Your Language



ICC announces expansion of women's cricket from next cycle

Monday, 8 March 2021 (18:08 IST)
Dubai:To mark the international women’s day, the International Cricket Council (ICC) on Monday announced the expansion of women’s cricket tournaments post the 2023 cycle.
According to ICC, the T20 World Cup will have 12 teams instead of 10 from the 2026 edition. The ODI World Cup will also be expanded - from eight teams to 10 - from the 2029 edition.
The 2024 T20 edition will continue to be a 10-team affair and the next two ODI World Cups will have eight teams which is the norm at the moment.The Women’s T20 Champions Cup, to be held from 2027 onwards, will have six teams.
The revised formats will give more teams the chance to compete on the global stage and importantly provides members with a window to grow the game domestically to challenge internationally as the changes take place, the ICC said.
'We have been building momentum around the women's game for the last four years investing in global broadcast coverage and marketing to drive fan engagement,' said ICC Chief Executive Manu Sawhney in a statement.
'The results speak for themselves with the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 attracting record numbers, 1.1 billion video views…,' he added.
The T20 World Cup 2020 was the most watched women’s cricket event of all time and 86,174 fans attended the final at the MCG, a record attendance.
'This decision to expand our women's events builds on these foundations and allows us to give more member countries greater opportunities to compete on a global stage,' Sawhney added.(UNI)

Share this Story:

Follow Webdunia english

Next Article

VHP leader arrested for theft of temple donation box, bike