Webdunia - Bharat's app for daily news and videos

Install App

Select Your Language



Kohli & Pujara consolidate as India lose openers while batting first in adelaide

Thursday, 17 December 2020 (13:39 IST)
Adelaide:It was same classic start of border gavaskar trophy today. With few wrong selection already doing worse for team india, it was no different start. Prithvi shaw was castled by the left arm pacer Mitchell starc who has scalped 42 wkts in 7 matches played with the pink Ball. Later Pat cummins went through the gate of opener Mayank Agrawal on 16. Kohli and pujara has faced chin music but have been impressive at crease till now.
Earlier India captain Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to bat against Australia in the first Test of the 4-match series, here at the Adelaide Oval on Thursday.India had announced their team on Wednesday, opting for Prithvi Shaw to partner Mayank Agarwal at the top of the order in preference to Shubman Gill, with regular opener Rohit Sharma still regaining fitness after an injury.
Umesh Yadav is the third seamer alongside Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah, while Ravi Ashwin won the race to be their lone spinner and Wriddhiman Saha was preferred ahead of Rishabh Pant to keep wicket.
On the other hand, Australia opted to go in with Matthew Wade and Joe Burns at the top in the absence of the injured David Warner and Will Pucovski. Cameron Green also made his Test debut. 
Australia: Joe Burns, Matthew Wade, Marnus Labuschagne, Steven Smith, Travis Head, Cameron Green, Tim Paine (w/c), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood.
India: Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli(c), Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha(w), Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah.

Share this Story:

Follow Webdunia english

Next Article

PM Modi, Sheikh Hasina launch Mujib-Bapu digital exhibition, inaugurate pre-1965 rail link