Webdunia - Bharat's app for daily news and videos

Install App

Select Your Language



PM Modi, cricketers congratulate Team India for historic win in Australia

Tuesday, 19 January 2021 (16:59 IST)
New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Tuesday led the former and current Indian cricketers in greeting Team India on their historic series win over Australia in Brisbane.

India won the fourth and final Test of the series with three wickets, clinching the series by 2-1. This is the first time Australia lost a Test match at Brisbane since 1988.

With 2-1 series triumph, India also retained the Border-Gavaskar Trophy. India had won a historic Test series Down Under two years back also.

Lauding the Indian cricket team, PM Narendra Modi said on Tuesday that the country is “overjoyed.”

“We are all overjoyed at the success of the Indian Cricket Team in Australia. Their remarkable energy and passion was visible throughout. So was their stellar intent, remarkable grit and determination. Congratulations to the team! Best wishes for your future endeavours,” Modi tweeted.

Tendulkar lauded every member of the team for taking responsibility and take the side across the line at some point during the series.

“Every time we got hit, we stayed put & stood taller. We pushed boundaries of belief to play fearless but not careless cricket. Injuries & uncertainties were countered with poise & confidence. One of the greatest series wins! Congrats India,” he tweeted.

“Congratulations to #TeamIndia Flag of India for the historic victory and retaining the Border-Gavaskar trophy Trophy We are proud of your excellent performance and the grit & determination displayed by our young players,” Sports Minister Kiren Rijiju said in a tweet.

Regular skipper Virat Kohli, who is on paternity leave, was happy by the team’s grit and determination.

“WHAT A WIN!!! Yessssss. To everyone who doubted us after Adelaide, stand up and take notice. Exemplary performance but the grit and determination was the standout for us the whole way. Well done to all the boys and the management. Enjoy this historic feat lads. @BCCI,” Kohli said in a tweet.

“@ajinkyarahane88 led the side brilliantly, giving a lot of confidence to youngsters and Pujara exhibited his steely resolve once again. Can’t forget the young bowling unit. Fantastic team AUSvsIND,” VVS Laxman tweeted.

“Khushi ke maare pagal. This is the new India. Ghar mein ghuskar maarta hai. From what happened in Adelaide to this, these young guys have given us a joy of a lifetime. There have been World Cup wins but this is special. And yes, there is a reason Pant is extra special,” Virender Sehwag said in tweet.

“Congrats to the Indian cricket team @BCCI That’s one of the best series wins I can ever remember on Aust soil & to do it after being bowled out for 36, plus a depleted squad-shows tremendous character, resilience, courage & belief. Just fantastic @RaviShastriOfc @ajinkyarahane88,” former Australia spinner Shane Warne tweeted.

“Speechless!!! Fortress Gabba has been breached!! What a great great game of Test match cricket. I still have goosebumps. Complete team effort. Jab hausle ho Buland toh har mushkil lage aasaan! #TeamIndia Flag of India #Merabharatmahaan,” Mithali Raj tweeted. (UNI)

Share this Story:

Follow Webdunia english

Next Article

BCCI announces Rs 5 cr bonus for victorious Indian team