Webdunia - Bharat's app for daily news and videos

Install App

Select Your Language



Pushkar Singh Dhami sworn-in as Uttarakhand CM

Sunday, 4 July 2021 (18:34 IST)
Dehradun: Two-time BJP MLA from Khatima constituency, Pushkar Singh Dhami, was on Sunday sworn-in as the 11th Chief Minister of Uttarakhand.

Governor Baby Rani Maurya administered the oath of office and secrecy to Mr Dhami at a function held with COVID-19 protocols in Raj Nivas. With this, the 45-year-old MLA became the youngest chief minister of the state.

He was elected as leader of the legislative party on Saturday by the BJP leaders in presence of central observers Union Agriculture Minister Narendra Singh Tomar and BJP general secretary D Purandareshwari.

Mr Dhami is the third chief minister to hold the top post this year. His predecessor Tirath Singh Rawat, a Lok Sabha MP, resigned from the post of the chief minister on Friday due to a constitutional crisis.

Due to COVID-19 situation, he found it difficult to get elected to Vidhan Sabha, a must by law, before the stipulated six months period ending in the first week of September.

Earlier in March, Trivendra Singh Rawat resigned as asked by the high command over certain issues. Uttarakhand will go to the Assembly polls in 2022. (UNI)

Share this Story:

Follow Webdunia english

Next Article

Even at 75, the bikini never gets old